#### City of Laingsburg Planning Commission Bylaws

#### **Authority**

The City of Laingsburg Planning Commission (hereinafter referred to as the "Commission") adopts these rules pursuant to Public Act 33 of the Public Acts of 2008, as amended, Public Act 110 of the Public Acts of 2006, as amended, and Public Act 267 of 1976, as amended, the Open Meetings Act.

#### Article 1 Membership

<u>Planning Commission Board.</u> Members of the Commission are appointed by the mayor of the City of Laingsburg, which is subject to approval by a majority vote of the members of the City Council elected and serving, pursuant of the City of Laingsburg Planning Commission Ordinance. The Commission shall consist of seven (7) members.

<u>Attendance</u>. If any member of the Commission has more than three (3) excused absences and/or more than two (2) unexcused absences for regularly scheduled meetings within one (1) year, then that member shall be considered delinquent. Delinquency shall be grounds for the city council to remove a member from the Commission for nonperformance of duty, or misconduct, after holding a public hearing on the matter. The Commission minutes shall keep attendance records and shall notify the city council whenever any member of the Commission is absent from three regularly scheduled meetings, so the city council can consider further action allowed under law or excuse the absences.

<u>Training.</u> Each member is encouraged to attend education and training opportunities. The City of Laingsburg has a training budget for elected and appointed officials. Members shall be reimbursed for training expenses that are specifically authorized by Laingsburg City Council for official business of Commission training.

### Article 2 Meetings

<u>Regular Meetings.</u> Regular meetings of the members of the Commission shall be held at the Laingsburg City Hall (114 N Woodhull Road) or at such other place as designated in the notice thereof. Meetings shall be held on the third (3rd) Monday of the month at 7pm.

<u>Special Meetings.</u> Special meetings of the members of the Commission shall be held at Laingsburg City Hall or at such other place as designated in the notice thereof. Special meetings may be called at any time by the Chairman of the Commission or any three members thereof. Procedures and notice of the special meeting will be in accordance with the Open Meetings Act, Act No. 267 of the Public Acts of 1976, as amended.

<u>Public Comment.</u> Any public member who intends to speak at a Commission meeting shall sign in before public comment begins. Public comment shall take place at the beginning of each Commission meeting

after the call to order. The Chairman shall open the floor to the public. Each public member shall have up to three (3) minutes to deliver their comment to the Members of the Commission.

# Article 3 Ouorum

The majority of Commission members, four (4) members, shall constitute a quorum at any regular or special meeting of said Commission.

### Article 4 Agenda

<u>Order of Business.</u> A written agenda for all regular and special meetings shall be prepared as follows. The recommended order of business includes:

- Call to Order
- Public Comment
- Approval of Minutes
- Items of Business
- Other Items
- Adjournment

<u>Minutes</u>. A person appointed by the Commission shall prepare Commission minutes. The minutes shall contain a brief synopsis of the meeting, including a complete restatement of all motions and recording of votes; complete statement of the conditions or recommendations made on any action; and recording of attendance.

# Article 5 Amendments

These Bylaws may be amended, altered, or repealed by the affirmative vote of a majority of the members of the Commission at any meeting call for such purpose, provided that the substance of the proposed amendment or other change shall be stated in the notice of the meeting or by unanimous vote of all members of said Commission.

BY-LAWS ADOPTED DURING THE FEBRUARY 19, 2024 PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING OF THE CITY OF LAINGSBURG.