

Phone (517)651-5374 Fax (517)651-5604

LAINGSBURG CITY COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS July 6, 2020 **Approved**

Mayor Culpepper called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. remotely where, due to the COVID19 pandemic, all members of the City Council were in separate locations with no one participating from the Laingsburg City Hall Council Chambers.

Present: Mayor Culpepper, Marcie Nickols, Mary Hetherington, Alan Ducastel, Gail Geasler, David Rhodabeck and Brian Fredline. Members Absent: None.

Public Comment – The floor was opened to public comment and Marcus Braman spoke requesting that the City Council consider extending the deadline for accepting marihuana facility applications due delays caused by to COVID 19. A lengthy discussion ensued regarding the request to extend as well as the license that was on the agenda for tonight's meeting. Rosemary Ridsdale, DDA Treasurer, presented the DDA 2020-2021 Proposed Budget.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Rhodabeck to adopt Resolution #2008 to extend the deadline for Marihuana Facility Permit Applications to be accepted until December 31, 2020. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Geasler to approve the DDA's 2020-2021 Budget as presented. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Nickols to approve the minutes of June 1, 2020, as presented. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Nickols to approve the Treasurer's Report, subject to audit. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Heatherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Nickols to approve extending the assessors contract contract with HSC Services at a rate of \$1,425 per month. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Rhodabeck to approve the purchase of a Little Wonder Monster selfcontained leaf vacuum 10 yard with a 36hp Yammar diesel motor in the amount of \$40,601 including delivery, authorizing the purchase to be funded with an installment purchase agreement. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabcek, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Rhodabeck to accept the resignation of Henrietta Sparkes, Dani Appicelli and Tanya Robinson from the Library Board, effective immediately. To re-appoint Greg Beavers and Dena Judd to the ZBA for a 3-year term to expire in June of 2023, Jean Austin to the LSW for a 3 year term to expire in June of 2023, David Shinsky, Rosemary Ridsdale and Richard Darr to the DDA for a for a 4 year term to expire in July of 2024. To appoint Aaron Budnick to the DDA for a 4-year term to expire in July of 2024. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: Sone. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Nickols approve the request for a new traffic control order number 232 that will post "No Parking at Anytime" on the North and South side of McClintock Street from N. Laing Street to Shiawassee Street. This will cover the 100-400 Blocks of McClintock. A violation of this traffic control order is a municipal civil infraction, the civil fine for a violation shall be \$25.00 plus court costs as stated in section 1-25 General Penalty, Laingsburg City Ordinance as authorized under Chapter 87 of Act NO 236 of the Public Acts of Michigan of 1961, MCL 600.8701 et seq., MSA 27A8701 et seq. Police Officers are authorized to issue notices of violations of this section. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Nickols to accept for review the Adult Use Retail facility license application for 120 West Joint Venture. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Nickols to pay the bills in the amount of \$35,088.23 from the General Fund using check #41160-41201; Electronic payments of \$41,006.71 from 6/1 through 6/30. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Geasler to purchase tires for 2006 Chevrolet pick-up in the amount of \$660 from All-Tech Automotive. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Culpepper to purchase tires for 2008 Ford f-550 in the amount of \$1,266.58 from All-Tech- Automotive. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

Paula Willoughby Clerk Micheal Culpepper Mayor