

PHONE (517)651-5374 FAX (517)651-5604

LAINGSBURG CITY COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS April 6, 2020 Approved

Mayor Culpepper called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. remotely where, due to the COVID19 pandemic, all members of the City Council were in separate locations with no one participating from the Laingsburg City Hall Council Chambers.

Present: Mayor Culpepper, Marcie Nickols, Alan Ducastel, Mary Hetherington, Gail Geasler, David Rhodabeck and Brian Fredline. Members Absent: None.

Staff present: Chief Dan Dekorte, DPW Supervisor David Casler, Clerk Paula Willoughby and Deputy Treasurer Cassy Brown.

Move by Rhodabeck, supported by Hetherington to adopt Resolution 20-05 establishing temporary rules for remote attendance by members of the Laingsburg City Council and other Public Bodies and Members of the Public at Public Meetings due to the Coronavirus Pandemic. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Resolution Declared Adopted. Complete Resolution attached to the minutes.

Public Comment: The public was invited to attend via a phone call into the meeting, Zoom or You Tube. Terry Link and John Liskey joined the group. The only comment was thanking the Council and staff for working through this process.

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Fredline to approve the minutes of March 2, 2020, as presented. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Rhodabeck to approve the Treasurer's Report subject to audit. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Hetherington to remove Planning Commission Member Randy Martin from his unexpired term due to lack of attendance at more than three consecutive meetings, and lack of response to the Mayor's attempts to contact him. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to accept the resignation of Planning Commissioner James Cherry due to family health concerns. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Ducastel to appoint Dena Judd and Jeff Geasler to the Planning Commission to complete the unexpired terms of Randy Martin, January 2022 and James Cherry,

November 2020, respectively. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Ducastel to Introduce the Proposed 2020-2021 Budget and schedule a public hearing for May 4, 2020 at 7:00 pm during the regular City Council Meeting. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline to refer the request from Nikole Bergey, regarding any interest in purchasing her property located at 203 N. Laing Street, to the Planning Commission to review and discuss the pros and cons. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Hetherington, supported by Ducastel to authorize the Police Chief to purchase a refurbished Taser X26P for the police department in an amount \$699.00. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline to approve the proposal from the Greater Laingsburg Recyclers for a Grant Application to the State of Michigan through EGLE, the City agrees to be the Fiduciary for the Grant. The City agrees to commit \$5,000 toward the required 20% match, from the City of Laingsburg General Fund. The complete proposal is attached to the minutes. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Nickols, seconded by Ducastel to pay the bills in the amount of \$367,204.94 using General Fund check numbers 41050 through 41137 and electronic payments of \$17,943.41 for April 2020. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel, Rhodabck and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Ducastel to adjourn the meeting at 7:52 p.m. Motion carried.

Paula Willoughby Clerk Micheal Culpepper Mayor