

PHONE (517)651-5374 FAX (517)651-5604

LAINGSBURG CITY COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS March 2, 2020 **Approved**

Mayor Culpepper called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers. Councilor Culpepper led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Mayor Culpepper, Marcie Nickols, Alan Ducastel, Mary Hetherington and Brian Fredline. Members Absent: David Rhodabeck.

Public Comment: The Laingsburg recyclers informed the Council that they plan to apply for a grant to construct a building on property owned by the Laingsburg School District, on Woodbury Road across from the Fire Hall.

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Hetherington to approve the minutes of February 3, 2020, as presented. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Ducastel to approve the Treasurer's Report subject to audit. All in favor, Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Nickols to open the floor for each Councilor to discuss the candidates to fill the Council vacancy. All in favor, Motion carried.

There were two candidates present Dena Judd and Gail Geasler, each candidate introduced themselves and provided the Council with a brief background.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Ducastel to close the floor for discussion of Council vacancy. All in favor, Motion carried.

The Mayor opened the floor for nominations, Hetherington nominated Gail Geasler to fill the vacant City Council seat and Nickols nominated Dena Judd to fill the vacant City Council seat. Mayor Culpepper asked if there were any other nominations, hearing none the Mayor closed nominations. The process is to vote on the candidates in the order they were nominated and the first candidate to receive a majority of the votes would be appointed to the Council. There was a roll call vote for Geasler: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper Nickols, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck. Majority received. The Mayor announced the position has been filled by Gail Geasler.

Gail Geasler took the Oath of office and was seated at the table to participate in the remainder of the meeting.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Ducastel to approve the resolution to waive the penalty for non-filing of transfer affidavit. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper, Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck. Motion carried.

Moved by Ducastel, supported by Fredline to approve the Annual Master Plan Review. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck. Motion carried.

Moved by Ducastel, supported by Fredline to approve the Planning Commission 2019 Annual Report. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Ducastel to refer an issue to the Planning Commission to review the provision of "Shared Wall" for Micro Business. All in favor, motion carried.

The 2020-2021 Budget Preliminary information was introduced to the City Council, no action.

Moved by Nickols, seconded by Ducastel to pay the bills in the amount of \$249,408.51 using General Fund check numbers 41007 through 41049 and electronic payments of \$43,413.34 for March 2020. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck. Motion carried.

Moved by Culpepper, supported by Fredline to approve the proposal for Software and Services for Financial Management to include: General Ledger, Accounts Payable, Cash Receipting and Payroll. This includes the software, training and support services to complete the project in an amount not to exceed \$25, 405, authorizing Paula Willoughby to sign the contract. There are annual support service fees for the software. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Culpepper to authorize the Police Chief to purchase 40 ticket books for the police department in an amount not to exceed \$1,300.00. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Culpepper Nickols, Geasler, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck. Motion carried.

Moved by Culpepper, supported by Fredline to appoint Dena Judd to the Board of Review as an alternate for a three-year term that will expire in December of 2022. All in favor, motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Ducastel to adjourn the meeting at 8:23 p.m. Motion carried.

Paula Willoughby Clerk Micheal Culpepper Mayor