

LAINGSBURG CITY COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS February 3, 2020 Approved

Mayor Pro-tem Fredline called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers. Councilor Rhodabeck led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Marcie Nickols, Dennis Hill, David Rhodabeck, Alan Ducastel and Brian Fredline. Members absent: Mary Hetherington and Micheal Culpepper.

Public Comment: None

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Nickols to approve the minutes of January 6, 2020, as presented. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Ducastel to approve the Treasurer's Report subject to audit. All in favor, Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Nickols to open the Public Hearing on the Amendment to the Ordinance 01-2019 and 02-2019 which both concern licensing for marihuana facilities, to include microbusinesses as permitted marihuana establishments pursuant to the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act, Initiated Law 1 of 2018, and to make minor corrections in fee and operational requirements. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Public Hearing Comments: There were 18 members of the public present for the public hearing. John Lisky, representing micro business applicants stated that by allowing small businesses like the Micro Business, will provide consumers the opportunity to have a choice of where to shop. There was no other comment from the public.

Moved by Ducastel, supported by Hill to close the Public Hearing on the Amendment to Ordinances 01-2019 and 02-2019. All in favor, Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Nickols to approve the Planning Commission request to rezone 101 N. Laing and 118 Crum St. to an RM- Medium Density Residential to a C-1, Central Business District. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Hill, supported by Nickols to approve Resolution #2001 to Amend the City of Laingsburg Code of Ordinances Chapter 18 Article VI Division 2 (Sections 18-316 through 18-321) updating clerical items and licensing fees (full resolution attached). Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to approve Resolution #2002 to Amend the City of Laingsburg Code of Ordinances Chapter 18 Article VI Division 1 (Sections 18-301 through 18-306) allowing micro businesses, updating clerical items and licensing fees (full resolution attached). Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Ducastel, supported by Nickols to approve Resolution #2003 to Amend the City of Laingsburg Zoning Ordinance Articles 2,5,6 and 8 creating standards for allowing Marihuana facilities and uses. (full resolution attached). Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Motion by Rhodabeck, supported by Nickols to approve the Marihuana Licensing Application and process as presented. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Hill to approve the June 2019 Audit Report of findings. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to approve the proposal for the renewal of Audit services for the fiscal years ending June 30, 2020 through June 30, 2022. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Nickols to review and approve the Property Exemption Policy and Guidelines for Property Tax. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Hill to approve the Citizen Participation Plan for the Community Development Block Grant Program. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Hill to accept the resignation of DDA Board Member Marsha Brandon. All in Favor, Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Nickols to appoint Rosemary Ridsdale to the fill the remainder of the term recently vacated on the DDA Board ending in July of 2020. All in favor, Motion carried.

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Nickols to pay the bills in the amount of \$395,147.44 using General Fund check numbers 40961 through 41006 and electronic payments of \$61,445.87 for January 2020. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Nickols to accept the resignation of Council Member Dennis Hill, effective February 4, 2020. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hill, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Rhodabeck to authorize the process as presented and to post an advertisement to appoint a new City Council Member. All in favor, Motion Carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to approve the 2019 Laingsburg Police Department Annual Report. All in Favor, Motion Carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Ducastel to approve the purchase of a Rain Gauge for the DPW Department from Milan Supply Company for the cost of \$1,010.02. Roll call vote: Yeas: Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

Information provided regarding the emergency repairs to the storm drain located on the west side of West Street that extends approximately 450 feet south of 3rd North Street with the DPW Crew performing the repairs, purchasing the materials and supplies with an approximate cost of \$2,500.

Moved by Nickols, supported by Ducastel to go into closed session under 15.268 sec 8(d) of the Open Meetings Act to consider Property Acquisition. Roll call vote: Yeas: Nickols, Rhodabeck, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: Hetherington and Culpepper. Motion carried.

The Council went into closed session at 7:40 p.m. The Council came out of closed session at 7:50 p.m.

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Rhodabeck to adjourn the meeting at 7:51 p.m. Motion carried.

Paula Willoughby Clerk Brian Fredline Mayor Pro-tem