

## LAINGSBURG CITY COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS

## October 7, 2019

**Approved** 

Mayor Culpepper called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers. Councilor Hill led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Marcie Nickols, Dennis Hill, Mary Hetherington, and Micheal Culpepper. Members absent: David Rhodabeck, Alan Ducastel and Brian Fredline

Public Comment: Cindy Garber spoke regarding county topics.

Moved by Hill, seconded by Hetherington to approve the minutes of September 9, 2019, as presented. Motion carried.

Moved by Nickols, seconded by Hill to approve the Treasurer's Report subject to audit. All in favor, Motion carried.

Moved by Hill, supported by Nickols to open the Public Hearing on the proposed Medical Marihuana Facilities Ordinance. All in favor, Motion carried.

Public Hearing: Preston presented the highlights
Jeff and Gail Geasler present

Moved by Hetherington, supported by Nickols to close the Public Hearing on the proposed Medical Marihuana Facilities Ordinance. All in favor, Motion carried.

Moved by Hill, supported by Nickols to appoint Wendi Kribbs to the Laingsburg Downtown Development Authority (DDA) for a four-year term that will expire on July 1, 2023. All in favor, Motion carried.

Moved by Hetherington, seconded by Nickols to purchase a split rail fence to enclose the basketball court at Bates Scout Park from Valley Lumber at a cost of approximately \$1,091.68 for materials only. The department of publics work staff will install the fence. Roll call Vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Hill, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck, Ducastel, Fredline. Motion Carried.

Moved by Nickols, seconded by Hetherington to purchase Carlile tires for the Case backhoe from Terry's Tire Service with an approximate cost of \$1,680.00. Roll call Vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Hill, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck, Ducastel, Fredline. Motion Carried.

Moved by Nickols, seconded by Hill to approve the Cell Phone usage policy as presented. Roll call Vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Hill, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck, Ducastel, Fredline. Motion Carried.

Moved by Culpepper, supported by Nickols to set Trick or Treat hours from 6pm until 8pm in the City of Laingsburg on Thursday, October 31, 2019. All in favor, motion carried.

Moved by Hill, seconded by Hetherington to pay the bills in the amount of \$96,040.58, using General Fund check numbers 40767-40813 and electronic payments of \$435,447.44 for August. Roll call vote: Yeas: Hetherington, Hill, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: Rhodabeck, Ducastel, Fredline. Motion carried.

Moved by Hetherington, seconded by Hill to adjourn the meeting at 7:49 p.m./Motion/carried

Micheal Culpepper

Mayor



## **RESOLUTION 1902 - EXEMPTION**

## RESOLUTION TO ADOPT THE ANNUAL EXEMPTION OPTION AS SET FORTH IN 2011 PUBLIC ACT 152, THE PUBLICLY FUNDED HEALTH INSURANCE CONTRIBUTION ACT

The following resolution was moved by Rhodabeck and supported by Nickols at the November 4, 2019 Regularly Scheduled City Council Meeting:

**WHEREAS**, 2011 Public Act 152 (the "Act") was passed by the State Legislature and signed by the Governor on September 24, 2011;

**WHEREAS**, the Act contains three options for complying with the requirements of the Act;

WHEREAS, the three options are as follows:

- 1) Section 3 "Hard Caps" Option limits a public employer's total annual health care costs for employees based on coverage levels, as defined in the Act;
- 2) Section 4 "80%/20%" Option limits a public employer's share of total annual health care costs to not more than 80%. This option requires an annual majority vote of the governing body:
- 3) Section 8 "Exemption" Option a local unit of government, as defined in the Act, may exempt itself from the requirements of the Act by an annual 2/3 vote of the governing body;

WHEREAS, the Laingsburg City Council has decided to adopt the annual Exemption option as its choice of compliance under the Act;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED the City Council of the City of Laingsburg elects to comply with the requirements of 2011 Public Act 152, the Publicly Funded Health Insurance Contribution Act, by adopting the annual Exemption option for the medical benefit plan coverage year January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2020.

Upon a call of the roll, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Hetherington, Ducastel, Fredline, Nickols, Rhodabeck, Hill and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: None.

RESOLUTION-DECLARED ADOPTED.

Micheal Culpepper, Mayor

City of Laingsburg

Paula Willoughby, Clerk

City of Laingsburg