

Discover \* Enjoy \* Celebrate!

## LAINGSBURG CITY COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS

February 4, 2019 Approved

Mayor Micheal Culpepper called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers.

Councilor Nickols led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Micheal Culpepper, Alan Ducastel, Marcie Nickols, David Rhodabeck, Brian Fredline, Dennis Hill and Mary Hetherington. Members absent: None.

Public Comment – None

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Nickols to approve the minutes of January 7, 2019, and January 16, 2019 as presented. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Hill to approve the Treasurer's Report subject to audit. All in favor, Motion carried.

The City's auditing firm, Gabridge and Co., reviewed the City of Laingsburg's Financial Statements of June 30,2018, with the City Council. The city is in sound financial condition.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Rhodabeck to accept the Audit Report as presented. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Ducastel, Hill, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Rhodabeck to approve the 2018 Police Department Annual Report. All in favor, motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Nickols to approve the updated 2019 Poverty Exemption Policy and Guidelines. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Ducastel, Hill, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Rhodabeck to place an advertisement in Shiawassee County Visitors Guide. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Ducastel, Hill, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Hill to pay the bills in the amount of \$21,130.38 and tax disbursement of \$356,680.17, using General Fund check numbers 40418-40466 and electronic payments of \$62,452.98 for February 2018 dated 1/7/18 - 2/4/19. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Ducastel, Hill, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline to approve the Lions Club proposal as follows: The Laingsburg Lions Club will purchase and install a Gaga Pit and two Tetherball Polls at Bates Scout Bark, and purchase two benches that will be installed by the City at locations determined in coordination with the Department of Public Works. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Ducastel, Hill, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline to approve Woodhull Construction to provide exploratory excavation services to determine the limits of the sewer line repair, or rehabilitation to correct infiltration issue. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Ducastel, Hill, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to go into closed session under 15.268 sec 8(d) of the Open Meetings Act to consider the purchase of real property. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Ducastel, Hill, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

The Council went into closed session at 7:52p.m. The Council came out of closed session at 8:01p.m.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Hetherington to enter into a purchase agreement for parcel number 022-60-120-001-01, authorizing the purchasing agent Dennis Hill to sign the agreement. This is the vacant piece of property located on S. Laing Street. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Ducastel, Hill, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to enter into a purchase agreement for a portion of parcel number 022-60-128-000-00 that measures 50' by 50', authorizing the purchasing agent Dennis Hill to sign the agreement. This is the vacant piece of property located at the end of Clinton Street. Roll call vote: Yeas: Ducastel, Hill, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hetherington and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Abstained: Culpepper. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Nickols to adjourn. The motion was unanimous and the meeting adjourned at 9:16 p.m.

Paula Willough Clerk

Micheal Culpepper Mayor