

LAINGSBURG CITY COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS

January 7, 2019 Approved Minutes

Mayor Culpepper called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers. Councilor Fredline led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Michael Culpepper, David Rhodabeck, Marcie Nickols, Dennis Hill, Mary Hetherington, Alan Ducastel and Brian Fredline. Members absent: None

Public Comment - None

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Nickols to approve the minutes of December 3, 2018 as presented. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Fredline to approve the Treasurer's Report subject to audit. All in favor, Motion carried.

Ducastel arrived at 7:03p.m.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline to open the public hearing to afford the citizens of Laingsburg an opportunity to submit comments on the Completed MEDC Community Block Grant for the Laingsburg façade area benefit project. All in favor, motion carried.

The project provided for façade improvements to 271, 268 and 259 E. Grand River, Laingsburg, Michigan. The City received \$196,995 for reimbursement of the façade improvements with \$196,995 match from private companies. The project performance accomplished the goals set forth in the grant application.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Nickols to close the public hearing on the Completed MEDC Community Block Grant. All in favor, motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to approve closing the following streets for the Laingsburg Lions Springtime Festival: Grand River Road from Woodhull Street to South Laing Street and Crum Street from Grand River to North Laing Street. Also, Roosevelt Row from Grand River to McClintock Street beginning Wednesday, May 16th at 3:30 p.m. to the evening of Sunday, May 19th. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Hetherington, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported Hill to reappoint Randy Martin and Richard Fraidenburg to the Planning Commission for a four-year term that will expire in January of 2022. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Hetherington, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Nickols to authorize C2ae to further investigate and take corrective action regarding infiltration that is occurring in the Hogs Back area per the proposal dated December 31,

2018. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Hetherington, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to approve the language amendments to Section 816 Group Day Care Homes/Day Care Centers, the language amendments allow Day Care Centers to be located within 1,500 feet of another Day Care Center and adds that Day Care Centers shall be required to provide access to outdoor areas. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Hetherington, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline to approve the 5-year Capital Improvement Plan dated December 2018. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Hetherington, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to approve the Economic Development Strategy dated 2018, as presented. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Hetherington, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Nickols to pay the bills in the amount of \$345,058.86, using General Fund checks 40345 – 40425 and electronic payments of \$58,567.87 dated 12/3/2018-1/7/2109. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Hetherington, Ducastel and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Ducastel to accept the resignation of Jim Burner from the Laingsburg DDA effective January 7, 2019. All in favor, motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Hill to adjourn. The motion was unanimous and the meeting adjourned at 7:31 p.m.

Paula Willoughby Clerk Michael Culpepper Mayor