

LAINGSBURG CITY COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS

November 12, 2018 **Approved Minutes**

Mayor Culpepper called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers. Police Chief Dan DeKorte led the Council in a moment of silence for retired Councilmen and Fire Chief Larry L. Sparkes followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Michael Culpepper, David Rhodabeck, Marcie Nickols, Dennis Hill, Alan Ducastel, Mary Hetherington and Brian Fredline. Members absent: None.

Public Comment - None

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Fredline to approve the minutes of October 1, 2018 as presented. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Ducastel to approve the Treasurer's Report subject to audit. All in favor, Motion carried.

Chapter 4, Section 2 of the City of Laingsburg Charter states: "The council shall, at its first meeting following each regular city election, elect one of its members to serve as mayor pro tem for a term expiring at the first council meeting following the next regular city election."

The Mayor opened the floor for nominations. Rhodabeck nominated Brian Fredline to serve as Mayor Pro-Tem. The Mayor asked if there were any other nominations, hearing none the nominations were closed. Brian Fredline accepted the nomination. Roll call vote for Fredline to serve as Mayor Pro-Tem until his term expires on November 9, 2020. Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Ducastel, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Nomination Carried.

Moved by Ducastel, supported by Hill to close McClintock Street from the Post Office Parking Lot drive (keeping the drive accessible) and Woodhull (keeping Woodhull accessible) during the Music in the Park for vendors, in 2019 from 3:00pm until 8pm on Wednesdays from July 10 through August 14th, And, to close Grand River Road from Crum Street to High Street, S. Woodhull Street from Williams Street to Grand River Road and N. Woodhull Street from Grand River to McClintock (keeping McClintock open)on Saturday, December 1, 2018, from 3:00 p.m. until 9 p.m. for the LBCA Winterfest. All in favor, motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Rhodabeck to adopt the Resolution#1805 to amend code of Ordinances, City of Laingsburg, Chapter 58 adding Article VI "Off Road Vehicles: Roll call vote: Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Ducastel, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Nickols to adopt the Resolution#1806 for the Annual Exemption (Opt out) Option as set forth in 2011 Public Act 152, The Publicly Funded Health Insurance Contribution Act. Roll call vote: Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Ducastel, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Hill to approve the budget amendments as presented. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Rhodabeck ,Hetherington, Hill, Fredline, Ducastel and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Nickols to accept the resignation of Clyde Stanlake effective October 20, 2018 from the Laingsburg Library Board. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Hetherington, Hill, Fredline, Ducastel and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Ducastel to appoint Jennifer Sergeant to the Laingsburg Library Board for a term ending June 30, 2022. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Rhodabeck ,Hetherington, Hill, Fredline, Ducastel and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck supported by Hill to accept the proposal from LAP to complete the study for the Amphitheater in McClintock Park including a cost and drawings to be used for a grant application. Roll call vote: Yeas: Culpepper, Rhodabeck ,Hetherington, Hill, Fredline, Ducastel and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

The City Council had a discussion regarding the Capital Improvements Plan. They were provided a list of the projects that have been suggested. The Council had the opportunity to add to the list before it is presented to the Planning Committee on Monday.

Moved by Rhodabeck, seconded by Nickols to pay the bills in the amount of \$32,682.91, using General Fund checks 40273 – 40325 and electronic payments of \$35,781.57 dated 10/2/2018-11/8/2018. Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Ducastel, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline to update the OmniSite equipment and annual service plan at a cost of \$897 for the equipment and \$495 annually for the service. Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Ducastel, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline to authorize DPW Supervisor Rob Frank to seek bids, authorizing him to select the repair service provider to perform the necessary repairs to the pick-up. Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Ducastel, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline to authorize the DPW Supervisor to accept the proposal from Sunrise Seamless to repair/replace eves on the City Building located at 114 N. Woodhull. Ayes: Culpepper, Rhodabeck, Nickols, Hill, Ducastel, Hetherington and Fredline. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Culpepper to adjourn. The motion was unanimous and the meeting adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

> Paula Willoughby Micheal Culpepper Clerk

Mayor