

LAINGSBURG CITY COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS
August 6, 2018

Approved

Mayor Culpepper called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers.

Councilor Nickols led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present: Marcie Nickols, Dennis Hill, David Rhodabeck, Alan Ducastel, Brian Fredline, Larry L. Sparkes and Micheal Culpepper. Members absent: None.

Public Comment – County Commissioner Bartz gave a report on the current status of County Projects.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Nickols to approve the minutes of July 9, 2018, as presented. Motion carried.

Moved by Sparkes, seconded by Hill to approve the Treasurer's Report subject to audit. All in favor, Motion carried.

Moved by Ducastel, supported by Sparkes to accept the recommendation of the Planning Commission to approve the Final Site Plan for the Watkins Funeral Home Addition. Roll call vote: Yeas: Sparkes, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hill, Ducastel, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Nickols to accept the recommendation of the Planning Commission to approve the Special Land Use and Final Site Plan for the Bunning Group Day Care. Roll call vote: Yeas: L.L. Sparkes, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hill, Ducastel, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Mary Rice, SATA Executive Director and Rebecca Schoch, SATA Operations Supervisor were present and provided the City Council with the plan to keep Laingsburg's ridership growing with the City's participation.

Moved by Fredline, supported by Hill to renew the commitment to provide SATA services by committing to pay an amount not to exceed \$3,308.83 for participating with SATA for the year 2018-2019. Roll call vote: Yeas: Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hill, Ducastel, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: Sparkes. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Fredline supported by Nickols to approve the Proposal from Northern Consultants, Inc. to provide Grant Administration Services as described in the RFP for an amount not to exceed \$28,960.00. Roll call vote: Yeas: Sparkes, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hill, Ducastel, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Hill supported by Culpepper to approve the Proposal from C2ae to provide Design and Construction Engineering Services for the CDBG Infrastructure Grant Project – Storm Water & Sanitary

Outlet Improvements as listed in the agreement. Roll call vote: Yeas: Sparkes, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hill, Ducastel, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Sparkes, seconded by Ducastel to accept the LSW Emergency Services Authority 2019-20 Budget, as presented. Roll call vote: Yeas: Sparkes, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hill, Ducastel, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried

Moved by Ducastel, seconded by Rhodabeck to authorize the purchase of a 10' underbody dump box from Mikes Service in Elsie in the amount of \$9,850.00. Roll call vote: Yeas: Sparkes, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hill, Ducastel, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Sparkes, supported by Fredline to accept the resignation of Sue Bates effective August 1, 2018 from the Laingsburg Library Board. All in favor, motion carried.

Moved by Sparkes, supported by Fredline to accept the decision of Cheryl Barnhart allow her term on the Laingsburg Library Board to expire on June 30, 2018 without renewal. All in favor, motion carried.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Nickols to pay the bills in the amount of \$107,225.05, using General Fund check numbers 40140 – 40190 and electronic payments of \$42,522.77 for August. Roll call vote: Yeas: Sparkes, Fredline, Rhodabeck, Hill, Ducastel, Nickols, and Culpepper. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Rhodabeck, supported by Fredline that the Board meet in closed session under section 8(e) of the Open Meetings Act, to read information provided from our attorney regarding court proceedings and mediation in regards to the Chavez lawsuit. Yeas: Culpepper, Ducastel, Hill, Sparkes, Fredline, Rhodabeck and Nickols. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried. Time entered into closed session 7:43 p.m.

Time the Board reconvened in open session 8:12p.m.

Moved by Fredline, seconded by Sparkes to adjourn. The motion was unanimous and the meeting adjourned at 8:13 p.m.

Paula Willoughby Clerk Micheal Culpepper Mayor